First Page Fridays!

It seems I’m a bit addicted to these book memes. Sorry for the lack of reviews so far! I’m working on a review for Vengeance Born by Kylie Griffin (which I just finished!), but that’s going to take a while, so until then…Let me introduce you to…

first page friday

First Page Friday is a weekly book meme hosted by Pen to Paper! Basically, I will feature the first page of a book which I have read, am reading, or am soon to read. This week’s lucky little book is…

Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith! Before we jump to the first page, let’s take a look at the synopsis…

– – –

Over their father’s deathbed, young Meliara Astiar and her brother Branaric promise to lead their people against the evil King. The impoverished count and countess discover that even when the cause is right, leading a war is much tougher than it appears. When Meliara falls into the hands of the elegant Marquis of Shevraeth, the enemy commander, she knows she has to either escape or die. After a desperate chase across country, she discovers that she and Bran are not alone—but the alliance is offered by the person she hates the most.

Once the king is gone, she faces a new type of battlefield: not muddy fields and sharpened steel, but marble palaces. The weapons now are fashion, manners, and the subtle and secret language of fans. Finally, there is the toughest challenge of all, courtship. For how do you defend yourself when the one who draws your eye, and your heart, is your worst enemy?

– – –

crown_duel

Here is the first page (two shots because it’s on my Kindle).

20130726_221248 20130726_221259

The first page isn’t outrageously eye-catching, but it’s certainly interesting. It has a quaint, story-telling, fairy-tale-esque sort of feel to it…Just the sort of thing I love to read.

I mean, World Gates? Fire sticks? Hill Folk? That’s so freaking cool.

For those of you who haven’t read Crown Duel…For the love of everything wonderful, READ IT. I chose this book to spotlight because it honestly doesn’t get the attention it deserves. I read it a while ago, but it still remains one of my favorite books of all times.

It has everything from adventure to epic battles to swoon-worthy lords to spine-tingling court intrigue. It’s basically the epitome of what I adore in books.

Did the first page and synopsis pike your interest? What are you waiting for? CLICK!

3 thoughts on “First Page Fridays!

    • Sorry for the extremely late (as in four months late– oops!) reply. I had abandoned the blog, but have recently decided to continue it 🙂

      Anyways, thanks so much! It’s one of my favorite books of all time, so I can totally relate XD

Leave a comment